79

I drove my old unfaithful in a mindless fashion and met number seventy-nine. I parked in a parallel fashion in the nearest space to the door. There I sat, content in the fresh, cool, air-conditioned car. I turned the key backwards and the low hum of the engine and the sound of the car radio were immediately silenced. With a general feeling of resignation I grabbed the handle of the door and pulled. The car door swung open with a creek and the stagnant heat punched me in the face as I had feared it would. The thermometer on the dashboard read 93 degrees. I dragged myself with a defeated persona to my front door jiggling the key in the lock before swinging the heavy wooden barrier open. Entering my apartment I immediately hit the fan. I stood in front of the old plastic and metal box which decorated my window like some kind of souvenir from 20 years ago. A zephyr politely greeted the beads of sweat which had accumulated upon my brow. A cooling sensation caused a shiver and the dewy droplets evaporated into the air. A melting aura of relaxation draped my being and I liquified and fell onto the couch. I tried to combat this sleepiness which had overtaken me but to no avail. Instantly my mind filled with moving images. Tree tops were swaying to and fro and people began to whisper. There was a silent stream which was surrounded by long grass. Picturesque clouds filled the sky like fluffy cotton balls. I fell into a deep sleep and began to drool from the corner of my mouth. Scents and colours and feelings were all so vivid. I knew that this seemed too perfect. I knew I was dreaming. I fought with my mind and I finally woke up. I maintained a state of reality for more than a few moments and realized that I was on my couch in front of the window fan. I took a careless hand and wiped the crust and drool which had formed on my face, I walked into the hallway. I climbed several flights of stairs and exited outside to the roof. Pulling out my favorite Zippo, I light a cigarette and drew the smokey air from the filter end of the rod. I closed my eyes for a moment. Suddenly my mind began to rush with thoughts. Memories and ideas proliferated and flooded my brain. A swift surge of energy and power came sweeping over my entire body and then nothing.

Abrupt and fatal ending!

About Justin

Writing keeps my body grounded while my mind is in the clouds. View all posts by Justin

Comments are disabled.

