First Hand

There is no need for me to live vicariously. I touch, taste, breathe and see my surroundings. I enjoy all cultures and all  societies. I have no religion, yet I learn about yours. I know about Apple pie and baseball but I also know about Schnitzle and Fussball. A geocentric approach will not get you anywhere in life. I don’t call Iraq, Afghanistan and Saudi Arabia the Middle East. I don’t call Asia the far east. If I’m standing in China then I am not in the east. I learn languages and try to speak them in the places I visit. I like to eat and drink what you are drinking in Prague. My mind is open. I am no different than anyone else in this world, therefore I am no better. Put me in Haiti and I shall live among the poor. Put me in Venice and I shall get around by boat. Put me in India and I too will ride a bike. I am open to possibilities. I continue to grow and shape my mind. When I am older I will not be who I am today. I will be much wiser! Open your mind. Experience the world first hand.

About Justin

Writing keeps my body grounded while my mind is in the clouds. View all posts by Justin

9 responses to “First Hand

  • omegaradium

    This is the only way to truly live life. I once saw a quote that read something like, “The world is like a book, if you don’t travel its like never reading the next page.”

    • Justin

      @Omegaradium- That quote sounds awesome. I really do like to experience life like this. I need to be open to new ideas and try different things. Every day that I can wake up and use my senses is another day that I can find something new. Im glad you feel the same way.

  • lori78

    Excellent philosophy. If you don’t let yourself be open to anything, you will never learn new things, you will never grow as a person and a human being. There is much in life waiting to be discovered and enjoyed.

    • Justin

      @Lori- I await these things! I love to keep my mind strong and open. Open mindedness is something I learned! It is an important thing to learn

  • chloë

    “When I am older I will not be who I am today. I will be much wiser!” the most inspirational & motivating line i have ever heard
    & trust me, i’ve heard a few

    you’ve got your head on right justin & knowing who you are right down the last sentence is admireable
    very well written

    • Justin

      @Chloe- I am happy that I can be inspirational. I hope you take what I said and you apply it to your own life. Life is so beautiful and I know how to make it more enjoyable! =)

  • nieschu

    really now? is that so? then why aren’t we moving to Germany again????

    • Justin

      @Ute- Okay okay! I see why you would ask me this. I like to have a home base to come back to and reflect. I’m sorry. I know it must be hard to live here in the US but I do appreciate it!

  • nieschu

    oh it is very hard to live here and one day I will make you pay :) love ya pumpkin

