Better than…

mirror

I have been doing a lot of thinking during the past few weeks. I have been reflecting upon myself. I know I am a good person…but why? I have tried to decide what makes me who I am. I have tried to figure out what attracts people to me. Sure, I am funny and decent looking but I don’t think that is it. I am also not trying to suggest that a lot of people have been attracted by me either. I am talking about an attraction of anyone such as friends, strangers, customers at my job, anyone at all. I also know that it is not possible to please everyone. Even if  Iwas the most love person on the planet, I would make a decision or take a stand which would be on the opposition of someone elses view. So, I am not the most loved character in the world, who cares? Let’s get back to who I am. What is it that I do? I have a mediochre job and  I am 27 years old and still attending college. I don’t have any real hobbies. I quote movie lines on a daily basis as converastional pieces. I am fairly lazy and I never have money. I sound like a total loser, yet there are still people that have a desire to be with me. Friends call me up or text me and ask me to go out. My family is upset when I don’t come around for a visit. My wife even wants to spend time with me. Why? I can only make guesses. It might be my easy going attitude or my calm demeanor. It might be my innocent look. It might be my philosophical views of the world. It feels good though. As I reflect upon myself I see someone that cannot really be taken advantage of. Who is going to use me? And furthermore, why? I have nothing to offer but myself. I have figured out that people only like ME. People don’t like my money or my car or my job or my beauty or my lack of possesions. They only like me as a human being. This is an amazing revelation. I believe it is important for everyone to look into the mirror once and a while and find out what type of person they are. It is a good feeling when you reveal your true self.

Enjoy…thanks!

About Justin

Writing keeps my body grounded while my mind is in the clouds. View all posts by Justin

7 responses to “Better than…

  • Otto Mann

    Remember, it’s not the things you own that define who you are.

    Your personality is priceless, no matter who you are. It’s what defines you.

    You may provide others with something intangible, something unique something only YOU can provide.

    Keep your head up. :-)

  • jcow81

    @ Otto Dude- Thank you. Thats kinda what I was poking at. I recently watched “If I”, a stand-up by Demetri Martin and the things he was saying were deep. It made me decide to evaluate myself…minus some arbitrary point system. I must have something that keeps people coming back to me… I am just trying to make the world a better place, starting with me! Thanks for the comment.

  • mikewalzman

    I know what you mean. And that was actually my new resolution. To think not what I want to be, but who I want to be (kind, humble, etc.) I think what attracts people to people is the energy. So you don’t have to have money, or you can have several defects of character, but there is an overall energy that people vibe with. I noticed that when I’m not paying attention to my looks, meaning I’m not obsessing on how my hair looks, or skin looks and also my material assets and I’m just in the moment, people seem to not even notice if I having a bad hair day, or I breakout or whatever it may be. It’s because your energy shines so much more brightly than anything else, and ultimately that’s what people are attracted to. good post : )

  • jcow81

    @ Mike- Thank you. I could not agree more. I have written previous posts about the energy people give off. Positive thinking allows the attraction of other positive things. We can only be positive for ourselves, that is why some people are just miserable for their whole lives. Anyway, if you have not read “The Secret”, I would suggest it. It holds the key to everything you just said. Thanks for the comment.

  • Romi

    I can’t believe you wrote this today! I was furiously reading “Tuesday’s With Morrie” on the train ride home today (I’m not sure if I’m the last person who hasn’t read this book, but it’s an amazing little book about a dying professor who teaches his favourite student life lessons (true story too)), and as I was reading, one of the things that Morrie said was that most people in life are unhappy, because they are focusing on the the wrong things; the job, fixing the broken radiator, paying the mortgage, affording the next car, getting the next promotion, all these milestones that you are supposed to hit, but they are manufactured, because humans existed before any of that, and they were still happy!

    The secret is “to be as human as you can possibly be” throughout your life; he mentioned having discussions, going on walks with friends, loving people, letting yourself be loved, listening, absorbing nature, examining your role in the community and getting involved…and really, that’s it. In reality it’s just those things that make anybody, a “special” somebody….so it’s achievable by anyone, even if they don’t possess all of the things you said you don’t have…Hence, I can see why you are so well-liked, you’ve got the important things going on, and I’m proud of you! :-)

    (and I am SO gonna finish that book on the train this week ;-) )

  • jcow81

    @ Romi- You really are so sweet. Thank you. When you are finished reading your book I would suggest watching “If I”, it is on Youtube. Demetri Martin is really talented and I gained a lot of respect for him. He is much more than a comedian. Philosophy speaks a lot about personal happiness. Socrates and Plato spoke about happiness and what causes it. This has alsways amazed me. How can someone who has everything be miserable? How can the poor man be so content? It is a state of mind! It has nothing to do with possessions. I am happy that I am the way I am. It is satisfying. Thank you again. =)

  • nieschu

    Well you know why I love you. :) I mean I would love you a little more if you had some serious money, but hey, cant have everything, right? I will still love you even if you dont ever have money, cause you will still be you!!!! the wife