End of the road…

happy-new-year-i

The year was full of mixed emotions which will certainly linger on into 2009. Corporations crumbled, jobs were lost by the thousands, a pointless war claimed many more innocent lives, history was made during an election, Santa became a murderer in L.A. and I became a blogger and you found The Invisible Children. I am positive that 2009 will make more history and a lot of 2008 will be forgotten. We will find ourselves scratching our heads and asking, “What was the name of that bank that used to be on the corner?” Much of 2008 will be remembered though, a black president! America has changed the worlds view. Europeans hated us for voting twice for George Bush. I was ashamed to say I was American when I visited Europe over the past few years, but now it is like a breath of fresh air.  As I sit writing this post for you in an Internet cafe in Germany, I can tell you that things are different. Everybody here talks about America and Obama and change. I have heard people use the famous “Yes we can” slogan, made famous by Obama. The year must come to an end…and today is it’s final day. As 2008 passes away I wonder if it will rest in peace or if people will keep digging it back up. The economy is in shambles and a lot of policies which continued through 2008 led to the downfall of monstrous enterprises and foundations. The pillars of Auto makers are cracking and unless there is a big change, they will  fall and turn to dust. What will change in 2009 around the world? Politics, energy, ideals, religion, war, immigration, education… these are all possibilities. Nothing will change unless we are willing to help. 2009 should be an opportunity! An opportunity for all of us to help. Help in any way you can. Protest against governments that are immoral, donate your time to underprivileged children, offer pocket change to beggars who need it more than you, hold a door for someone, say thank you, listen to someone who needs to talk. We must change in order for there to be a change. Remember 2008 for all of the positive things it offered. Forget about a horrid economy or a Santa killer or a hostage slaughter in India. Enter 2009 with a positive attitude and welcome change. Be willing to help!  Happy New Year to everyone! Thank you for reading my blog in 2008. CHEERS!!

-Jcow

About Justin

Writing keeps my body grounded while my mind is in the clouds. View all posts by Justin

4 responses to “End of the road…

  • san

    Happy New Year, Justin, and keep blogging!

  • jcow81

    @San- Yeah, I will definitly keep up with writing. I can’t say for sure right now but it looks like I may have gotten myself into something with writing. We can’t wait to see you at the wedding. Guten Rutsch!

  • romi41

    This was a very inspirational read; much needed by yours truly, so thanks for you and for your writing. Happy New Year and Happy wedding tomorrow, I’m sure it will be amazing :-)

  • jcow81

    @Romi- Thank you. Wedding went well…better than Ute and I would have thought. I like your new page. I am sure you will come up with some great posts. I might take it a little easy for right now. Got to get situated. =)

