Alba

No, I am not referring to Jessica Alba! I am talking about a rabbit that was made to glow.

Alba is a rabbit that was genetically created in 2000 for artist Eduardo Kac by French geneticist Louis-Marie Houdebine with the GFP gene found in the jellyfish Aequorea victoria and the sea pansy that fluoresces green when exposed to blue light, and when Alba was exposed to such light she would literally glow green.” (Wikipedia)

Why?? I don’t know. Its a pet and a night light for those of you who are afraid of the dark. Poor little rabbit.

About Justin

Writing keeps my body grounded while my mind is in the clouds. View all posts by Justin

6 responses to “Alba

  • Nieschu

    i want one of those!! it could light the way to the bathroom at night, so i wont run into things anymore. lets get a pet!

  • Steffi

    that is really weird.

  • minduhhh

    Now, I like things that glow in the dark, but I just think a living bunny that glows would be a bit creepy.

    Please don’t think that I go around labeling myself all the time. That post was really to prove that I don’t fit into any one label, even though people keep trying to put me into one.

  • Anonymous

    When do they finally start testing with humans. I’m sure some willing exemplares are out there and they can say “YES”.

    For what on earth do we need glowing rabbits???

  • silke

    THAT is scary… on the other hand, it would be funny if my cat would glow while she is out hunting little mice. ;)

  • Panic!Pandora

    lol I love it! In my zoology class we were talking about this. I so have to show my prof. this! lol

